Prof. Laila Abubakar

Prof. Laila Abubakar is currently the Vice Chancellor of Technical University of Mombasa, a Public University in Kenya, well known for its role in Science, Technology and Innovation. She is a Professor of Biochemistry having obtained her PhD and MSc in Biochemistry from University of Nairobi, under German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and European Union fellowships, respectively.

Prof. Abubakar began her professional career as a researcher with the Kenya Marine and Fisheries Research Institute (KMFRI) before moving to the University of Nairobi where she rose through the ranks of academic and professional leadership. She is an active researcher and has won several research grants and awards and published many scholarly articles in refereed national and international journals. This led to her being accorded the University of Nairobi Deans’ award for scholarship and research in 2011/2012.  She was also awarded 1st prize at the XII Molecular Parasitology Conference held at Woodshole Oceanographic Institute, USA (2002), 1st Prize ICIPE Governing Council Research Award (2002), 2nd Prize for research dissemination on “Energy, Water and Climate Change” by National Council for Science & Technology, among others.

She has maintained a dynamic academic and professional links with several universities and organizations, and fostered collaborative projects that have contributed in strengthening capacity in the region. She has successfully supervised and examined over 40 postgraduate students.

Special appointments include:

  1. Member of the Presidential Working Party on Education Reforms in Kenya (2022-2023)
  2. Chairperson, Association of Technical Universities and Polytechnics in Africa (2020–to date),
  3. Trustee, Kenya Education Network Board (2020- to date),
  4. Local Scientific Coordinator for the European Union Edu-Link Energise Project (2014-2018),
  5. Secretary General of African Association of Insect Scientists (AAIS) (2011-2015),
  6. Treasurer of the Biochemical Society of Kenya (2007-2011),
  7. Member of the implementation team for Development Research Uptake in Sub-Saharan Africa Network,
  8. Co-Chair of Africa Nutritional Sciences Research Consortium on Ph.D Training,
  9. Member of Innovation Fund Committee for Agriculture and Agri-business under the Agricultural Sector Coordination Unit (ASCU),
  10. Member of the National Steering Committee on Fisheries Policy & Legal Framework that culminated in the enactment of the Kenya Fisheries Management and Development law.